ComparisonCereal vs Make

Cereal vs Make: an AI browser agent for the sites Make can’t reach.

Make connects apps through their APIs in visual scenarios in its cloud, and now sells AI agents too. Cereal does a different job: its AI browser agent works the websites that have no API, in your own Chrome, with your model and your key, and Repeat replays what it learned without calling the model.

Not waiting? Download Cereal. 100+ ready-made scripts run in it today.

Goal Notify me when the PS5 Pro on bol.com drops below €450

  1. ✓ Opened bol.com in your Chrome
  2. ✓ Rejected cookie banner
  3. ✓ Searched “PS5 Pro”, opened product
  4. ✓ Learned: price below €450

● Repeat · 0 model calls

How they compare.

Cereal (coming soon)Make
Where it runsYour machine, in the free Cereal desktop app.Make’s cloud, as scenarios. Self-hosting: not stated by vendor.checked 2026-10 · help.make.com
Which browserYour own Chrome, in a window you can watch, with a separate profile per task. No extension, no new browser.Scenarios call app APIs, not your browser. Web browsing by Make’s AI Agent: not stated by vendor.checked 2026-10 · help.make.com
Model / BYOKBring your own model: Anthropic, Google Gemini, OpenAI, OpenRouter, or any OpenAI-compatible server. Your API key goes only to the AI provider you pick.Make’s AI Provider on all plans; your own provider connection (OpenAI, Gemini, Anthropic and others) on paid plans.checked 2026-10 · help.make.com
Local modelsYes: Ollama and LM Studio (best effort; tested on Claude, other models may vary).Not stated by vendor.checked 2026-10 · help.make.com
Repeats without the modelYes, after the first run: Repeat replays what it learned without calling the AI. If the site changes, the AI picks up where replay stopped.Scenarios are fixed module chains; AI Agent modules call the model and use credits each run.checked 2026-10 · help.make.com
Asks before buying/sendingAsks for your OK before it buys, pays, deletes or sends anything, including on repeat runs.Not stated by vendor.checked 2026-10 · help.make.com
PriceFree. You pay your AI provider directly, or nothing with a local model.Free: 1,000 credits/mo. Paid plans: Core, Pro, Teams and Enterprise. AI agents use credits.checked 2026-10 · make.com
PlatformsTested on macOS and Linux · needs Google ChromeWeb app in any browser.checked 2026-10 · make.com

When to pick Make instead.

  • You want a visual builder for app-to-app scenarios between services that have an API.
  • You want automations that run in the cloud while your computer is off.

Questions.
Answered.

Q/01Is it free?
Yes. Free, and free to run: use a free tier such as Gemini’s, a local model, or your own paid key. You pay your AI provider directly, typically cents to a few tens of cents per run (an estimate). Hard limits stop every run at $2 and every task at $5 by default, and you can change them. Free tiers may let the provider use your data; a paid key or local model keeps it private.
Q/02Where do my pages and key go?
Nothing passes through Cereal: your key and pages go only to the model provider you pick, or stay on your machine with a local model. Your passwords are typed by Cereal, not the AI: the model only sees a placeholder, and secret values are removed from logs.
Q/03What happens when the site changes?
After the first run, Repeat replays what it learned without calling the AI, so routine checks cost nothing. If the site changes, the AI picks up where replay stopped.
Q/04Does Make have AI agents?
Yes. Make AI Agent (New) is in open beta and uses credits (checked 2026-10). It works inside Make scenarios with your connected apps. Cereal’s AI browser agent works websites directly, in your own Chrome.
Q/05Can I bring my own key?
In Make, connecting your own AI provider needs a paid plan; free plans use Make’s AI Provider (checked 2026-10). In Cereal, you always bring your own model, including local ones like Ollama and LM Studio.

Not waiting? 100+ ready-made scripts run in Cereal today.